“Perfect Pairs”: A bridal shower gift basket

IMG_4842

As you may already know, our good friends Nathan and Ashley are getting hitched! And, with the wedding coming up in May, it was time to celebrate the bride with a special shower just for her. So us women folk gathered this past weekend to do just that, with tasty finger foods, a delicious cake and lovely floral arrangements put together by the enormously talented mother of the bride.

Mady, Ashley’s sister, was the mastermind behind the entire event and she nailed it. I wish I had more photos to share with you, but imagine handmade bunting with the letters for “Miss to Mrs” handpainted on each flag, rustic burlap table runners and springtime raffia with yellow blooms wrapped around the cake. It was perfection and felt SO “Ashley.”

But of course no bridal shower is complete without the gifts and, as I’m sure you could guess, I felt the need to get creative with mine. I really wanted to put together something unique for Ashley and eventually (after a night of tossing and turning to brainstorm) I finally came up with the idea of “Perfect Pairs,” inspired by the most perfect pair of all – Ashley and Nathan!!

IMG_4563

IMG_4570

The idea was to pick up useful things for the home that naturally went together – Things like a fork and spoon (a salad fork and spoon set), pen and paper (nice pens and a package of note cards) and a chip and dip (I don’t think that one needs explaining!). In order to bring the point home, I put together little tags in InDesign and Photoshop using colors to match the overall theme of the gifts – blue and green. Once printed and cut out, I was able to attach each to their respective pair using Scotch tape.

IMG_4587

IMG_4596

IMG_4604

IMG_4630

IMG_4633

IMG_4650

As for the wrapping, I decided to skip a paper gift bag and went with a utilitarian rubber bucket instead. It actually cost about the same as a large gift bag, but will last through whatever project Ashley puts it to.

IMG_4688

The final step was adding one last paper cut out to the front of the bucket that simply read “Perfect Pairs inspired by Ashley & Nathan.” I think Ashley got a kick out of the gift and I hope she and her hubby-to-be enjoy all of their new housewares! We had a blast watching her eyes light up as she unwrapped things like her gorgeous new dishes, Anthropology kitchen utensils, teal Keurig, serving ware and even a stunning gold Kate Spade bracelet. Bridal showers are so much fun…And Ashley deserves every bit of love!

IMG_4814

IMG_4820

IMG_4831

IMG_4842

If you want to try this gift idea for your OWN special bride, grab a free printable of the “Perfect Pair” tags by saving the image below to your desktop and printing it on thick cardstock paper. If you would like the front tag, email me at DreamGreenDIY@gmail.com so that I can customize the names for you. And please don’t hesitate to actually do that – If you don’t have time to write a long email, just send me a quick message with “Perfect Pairs” in the subject line and the two names in the body of the email.

Bridal Shower Gift Printable

UPDATE: Due to popular demand via the emails I’ve gotten for custom tags, I’m also including a free printable for “Salt & Pepper” below. If you can think of any other perfect pairs and want a customized tag, just let me know!

Salt and Pepper

P.S. Before I leave you for the weekend, it’s time for a quick “Friday Feature Round Up” – If you happened to miss any of the things I put together for The Glitter Guide or GalTime (my newest freelance contributor gig!) click on through – I made a DIY Gold Sequin Hair Bow (that my tom boy sister pricelessly modeled for me), chatted about incorporating florals into the home for the new season, and gathered my favorite Easter Egg Projects to try out this holiday weekend. Enjoy!

gold hair bow

4 thoughts on ““Perfect Pairs”: A bridal shower gift basket

What do you think??

